Challenge to my fellow Tale of Gamers editors   2 comments

So 2012 wasn’t a great year for gaming for me. I was distracted  with work and family so painting/gaming took a back seat (as it should when matched against those 2). Here we are in 2013 and the first thing we always talk about in a new year is our resolutions. Every year I say I’m going to paint more and gaming more but I’m thinking to myself … what’s going to move me to honor these goals?

Let me tackle painting first. I love collecting miniatures and thinking about how cool a model will look when it’s all assembled and painted. Unfortunately, that process between opening the package and putting it on the table full painted is a bit tough. I’m a decent painter but it does take me a long time to finish a model. Assembling and priming is not a problem for me but I’m somewhat of a picky person when it comes to painting. I’m not satisfied with a bare bones paint job … mostly due to the fact that once I say I’m finished a model, my wife picks it up and brings it two inches from her face and looks at all the detail.

Going off topic a bit, my buddy two summers ago convinced me to be his running buddy and join his fitness challenge. I don’t like running and I wasn’t in really any big need of losing weight or improving my health. But somehow he convinced me to join and I went along with this regiment for quite a few months.

So back to painting, my idea is to challenge all my fellow “Tale of Gamers” or anyone else out there who’s in a similar boat to do the following with me:

At the start of each month, take a picture of one or more minis that you plan to finish by the end of that month. It doesn’t have to be a brand new mini in an unopened box/blister. Let’s face it, we all have a ton of unpainted, partially painted, almost finished, and/or finished but on a plain base minis … we need to finish these minis to make room on our workbenches for all the other minis we have piling up.

At then end of month, post again with the finished product and I mean FINISHED (which includes a completed base … that’s my crutch). Plus post a picture of the next month plan.

Who’s with me?

My January plan is to finish my Malifaux Neverborn crew. Lilith is finished except for her base. All the other minis are in some stage of painting so this shouldn’t be a tough month for me.

Image

Posted January 4, 2013 by loychan in A Tale of Gamers, Malifaux

2 responses to “Challenge to my fellow Tale of Gamers editors

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm … no response from my fellow editors. Maybe my off topic story wasn’t direct enough … please join me so that I have somebody else to keep me motivated!!

  2. Wow, a post! That’s something special in and of itself on this blog! 🙂
    Yeah, I’ll participate, Loy. After just finishing my Khador Battlegroup I’m revving to keep on painting. I’ll have a workbench update (on my blog, though) shortly, but I’m working on some objective markers (WM/H and DA) and Ogres (WHFB). This month I’m planning to finish the objectives and get 2000pts of Ogres built, and 1000pts primed. Anything else will be gravy, although I’m pretty sure I’ll get started on the painting.

Leave a Reply

