The Wargaming Table: Introduction   7 comments

Here is the newest addition to my workbench.  It also is Step 1 in my resolution to have a gaming table at home.

The obligatory bulk box that GW always releases in limited numbers for any new product.

My last game of Warhammer Fantasy left me quite invigorated.  I was going to start on a skirmish or 15mm table but now that I feel like my interest is leaning heavily towards 28mm mass combat I thought I would start right.  I originally bought this massive box from The Sentry on Bayview Avenue (in Toronto) and immediately had buyers remorse for whatever reason.  Luckily Justin’s interest in terrain was just piqued (by WHFB of all things) and he was eager to grab the whole set off me.  Phew!, uh, ish.  Many many months later I think back on the pile of terrain for a very reasonable price and I think; “Hmmm, I remember there being two boxes there…”   Lo and behold, the second box, almost a year later, was sitting right there still discounted.  I was going to haggle (it has been sitting there for 3 years after all!) but I decided that I like the store and if I squeeze him for sales it doesn’t help him stay open.  I am sure that I have no idea how tough it is to be a hobby retailer nowadays.

So I now have a fairly decent selection of custom moulded plastic terrain for WHFB.  So what next?  I need to plan.  I have no idea how to go about building a gaming table.  I want to keep it pretty simple.  I have never been opposed to some terrain pieces sitting on a flocked mat, problem is I don’t really like playing on it.  Static grass comes loose and gets all over everything.  I’d like the simplicity of flock without the static grass.  The other fairly simple solution is a painted textured surface, problem with that is I am not a great painter so that is a monumental task for me.  Hmm.  Planning.  Compromises will definitely get made.  Maybe I will start with the pre-flocked gaming mat GW makes available and just put up with static grass.

I guess planning will help sort out all these issues.

Next up: The planning stage.

7 responses to “The Wargaming Table: Introduction

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I bought 3 2×4 folding tables from Costco and then went to Home Depot to pickup a 4×8 board that I got them to cut down to 3 pieces (4×4, 2×4, 2×4). I like this setup since I can make a 4×4 or 4×6 board very easily. This setup is good for mini games or board games.

    Add to this a zuzzy mat and some terrain pieces, you’re good to go.

  2. I love a good sale. What kind of savings did you get? If this project hits the back burner, I take it off your hands.

  3. It was $120+tax for 3 forests, fixed hill, 2 part modular hill, ruins, and 2 canisters of flock. So basically a hill and the ruins (and flock) for free.
    I hope it doesn’t come to that, but if it does I will keep you in mind! =)

  4. Hey! You have to take mine off my hands first! 🙂
    I got two of those tables myself, Loy. They’re great. I do need to get a third, though.

    This terrain set is also great. I hope to one day have my own gaming space with a table and varied terrain one day, too.
    I just need to take the time to clean the basement and set it up!

  5. I got the table, terrain and the space but no one wants to drive to the boons. It’s no “field of dreams” up here in Markham.

    Andrew: when you get that table up and running, we should setup some gaming nights (i.e. starting after the kids go down).

    • I’d be up for a drive out to you. Have to plan ahead though. I’m all for having people in to play once things get set up.

Leave a Reply

