Kirai vs. Perdita (25ss) – Rematch! – 03/20/12   Leave a comment

It’s been a while, so here’s a meaty post for you all.

So this Tuesday Loy and I started the evening with a game of Malifaux.  It was a 25ss rematch between my Ortegas (starter) and his Kirai (variety).  His crew was a little different from last week’s, which was a brutal affair seeing my Ortegas eventually whiped off the board, unable to defeat Kirai and her annoyingly-healy Spirit friends.  At least after that game I knew what it felt like to face Resurrectionists, although I think that Seamus & Co. are easier opponents than Kirai & Co.  Might have to face them off against each other sometime 🙂

Anyway, to the game.

Set-Up & Deployment

The board was once again the desert terrain with two buildings (ranch house and barn), an outhouse (centre of the table) and a scattering of barren trees and cacti, which I did not represent on the map this time:

We flipped up Reconnoiter, but this was once again quickly forgotten and it came down to general duking it out as sometimes happens with this game.  We had intended to make this game a bit more themey with a backstory and all that, but it didn’t work out.  Perhaps for next game, if we plan ahead a little.

The Shikome chose Nino as her Prey, as apparently Loy has beef with my 16″-ranged repeating rifle.

Turn 1

I got the initiative, but as it was the first turn nothing really happened other than moving around and some summoning.

Francisco and Santiago moved up the left, while Perdita, Papa Loco and Nino moved up the right.  The only other thing I did was have Nino cast In My Sights (bonus to attack) on the Shikome that moved up and in LoS.  This action also told me that the Shikome was about 18″ away, so too far to shoot at.

Kirai sacrificed the Seishin to summon Ikiryo, who floated up to the roof of the ranch house and cast Call Spirit to get everyone in closer.  It was like some kind of rooftop Spirit party!

Turn 2

Loy got initiative and started off by having the Shikome move behind the outhouse and cast Guarantee Fate against Francisco, forcing the duelist to get closer by the end phase or suffer.  I think at this point he may have forgotten or not realised that he could only attack his Prey, which I did not notice either.  So in retaliation, and to help a brother out (…yeah, I know…), Perdita moved up and made the Shikome Obey her and Charge Francisco, thereby helping me out of the Fate pickle a bit.  At the time there was no dispute, but later on in the night Loy was doing some reading and questioned whether I could make her Charge a model if she was not able to attack it.  I’ve asked up on the Wyrd forums and will share the answer with Loy and you when I find out.

Ikiryo moved up and called the Spirits back to her, pulling the Shikome out of harms way a tad, or at least making it more difficult for Francisco to stay within 6″ of her.  Ikiryo then moved closer, for future engagement.

And now came one of the little issues of the night, about cover.  As a Henchman-on-hiatus, you’d think I’d have the rule right.  Well, I did, but Loy said I was wrong, and I didn’t have the Rules Manual handy to check it out, so I used the old book.  Which has the old rule.  So we based the ruling on that, which blows because it meant that Santiago, who was behind a low cacti, was being penalised.  Clearly he was fine (within 1″ of the terrain so no effect on him), but I guess playing so many different games stuff like LoS and cover does get confusing.  So, I gave in and instead of using Rapid Fire he moved out and just shot the one time.  Bah.  I later realised that the faux-cover would have been negated by the Paired trait of his guns, so I should have just shot anyway.  Bah, again! At least the single shot he did take had a rams in the attack flip, so even at Weak he still did 4 damage! Which of course was halved because the Shikome is a Spirit.  Francisco Companioned and charged the Shikome, swung his big-arse sword and did 3 more damage (well, 6, but halved…grrr), leaving her with 2 Wds left.  So close!

The Onryo moved up and hit Francisco with Malevolence for 3 points of damage, and then used Vengeful Whisper to give Ikiryo Immediate Revenge 1 (inflicting 1 damage on anyone that shoots her and deals damage).  Papa Loco moved over and attempted to throw some dynamite at Ikiryo, but was out of range.  Oh, the barn has a long little alleyway in it, like a little covered area that opens into the horse stalls, I think.

Datsue-Ba moved up twice to get in close to the action, and also used Guide Spirits to move Ikiryo into melee with Francisco.  Nino moved, got the Onryo in his sights and took a shot, doing 3 (from 5) damage but taking 1 back from Immediate Revenge.  Hrm, the range-heavy, magical-weapon-less Ortegas might not be the best crew to take on these Spirits! 🙂

Kirai moved up and healed the Onryo a bit, and Lost Love moved up and healed the Shikome a bit as well.

Can I tell you how frustrating it is to see all your hard work and damage get healed up?  Yeesh!

Turn 3

A side note, it was exactly 8 o’clock at this point and Scott showed up, so Loy and I should have rushed the game a bit.  But it was going well, so we just played it out normally.

I started the turn off by having Francisco Flurry into Ikiryo, dropping her in I believe two of the three attacks.  Santiago Companioned in and charged into the Shikome and deals enough damage to drop her.  The Ortega brothers high five, at this point.  “Go team!”  Not even the Spirit trait could protect the enemy from The Family.

Datsue-Ba guided the Onryo in closer, and then charged into melee with Francisco, and does a couple more points of damage (nearly dead!).

Nino moves up, aims at Lost Love but misses his shot (Black Joker!).  Perdita tries to Obey Nino for a shot, but fails.  She then moves up instead and declares that if the Onryo charges or casts, she’ll shoot him.  Great idea, but this was negated when Kirai came and switched Datsue-Ba and the Onryo, taking the one out of melee and putting the other one in.  Sneaky!  She also heals herself.

Papa Loco moves through the barn and throws a stick of dynamite… a big one at that, hitting Datsue-Ba and catching Lost Love in the blast.

The Onryo swings at Francisco a couple of times who dodges the hits with lucky flips.  Lost Love ends the turn healing up Datsue-Ba and trying to sacrifice himself to summon another model with Kirai’s Evolve Spirit, which gets us into another debate about wounding yourself during an action, blah blah blah, and we decide in the end I said he could do it.  I’ll have to figure out exactly what happened and then ask about it on the forums as well.  Anyway, he turns himself into a Gaki, who moves towards Perdita.  No worries, Loy, I’ll give this one to you.

Turn 4

I needed to use one of my soulstones to re-flip the initiative, and getting the Red Joker.

Francisco started the Companion chain and uses Flurry to hack apart the Onryo, whose upon-dying ability Haunt failed against Santiago.  Papa Loco hit Datsue-Ba with dynamite, while Santiago began a Rapid Fire + Trigger Happy combo that took down the old Datsue-Ba.  Fate was definitely with me there, giving me exactly what I needed to send the Spirit back to the other plane from whence it came.  This gave Kirai a Seishin.

The Gaki charged into Perdita and missed the attack.  Perdita hit back and killed it with two attacks.   The Slow to Die attack-back missed as well.  She then just moved up a bit.

Nino moved up and took a shot at Kirai, hitting her for a few points and taking 2 back.

Kirai healed up and attempted a slew of Spells and (0) Actions, but failed them all, I think.  Loy’s frustration was increasing at this point, and with good reason.  Looks like Fate was looking the other way, this game.  She may have cast Spirit World and turned into a Spirit at this point, though.

Turn 5

Kirai started the turn off.  She casted Spirit World again, healed herself as a Spirit.  She then summoned Ikiryo (dropping herself to 1 Wd left).  I realised while writing this and watching the video that Loy removed the Seishin to do this, which was not necessary, so he actually should have had an extra Spirit around to help last a bit longer.  However, this may be a moot point as I did have all five Ortegas alive and ready to pounce on Kirai, Ikiryo and the Seishin.

You can guess that at this point it was a forgone conclusion, and with all of the Ortegas in Companion range of each other, they would all be able to work together to lay down the hurt.  Nino actually killed Kirai on his activiation, and Santiago got Trigger Happy and took out Ikiryo.

Game over.

Post-Game Thoughts

Well, I was quite surprised that I tabled Loy’s Spirits.  After last game, which was a much closer battle (with Loy coming out on top), I thought I’d lose a few of the family members and maybe-maybe-not pull out a victory.  I believe this is only Loy’s second game with the Spirits, so of course he’s still working on figuring them out.  He’s getting closer, for sure, but Fate was definitely on my side this game.  I flipped all of the right cards, and he flipped few that he needed.  That one turn of Kirai failing most of her spells was pretty bad.

Tuesday night we shot some emails back and forth about rule issues, including cover and using Obey on the models with Kirai’s Soul.  Hopefully we’ll figure all of our questions out for our next meeting.

Now I definitely know Loy will not want to face me again any time soon.  At least not my Ortegas.  Maybe I’ll try Lilith next and see how a melee-heavy crew fares against the Spirits.

I picked up Abuela Ortega, hoping to put her healing powers to good use.  I’ll get her painted up soon.

I also left my two crews and my Freebooter’s Fate Imperials at MM in one of the display cases.  I forgot to take a picture, but I will next time I’m around.  They look neat in there, with their stat cards splayed out.

Thanks for reading.

Posted March 22, 2012 by mrborges in Battle Report, Guild, Malifaux, Resurectionists

Leave a Reply

