I hate to paint #4   3 comments

Malifaux

Kaeris

Kaeris received a Badab Black wash coating everything except skin and hair.  I gave her skin a light wash of Ogryn Flesh.  I need to decide on what to do about her hair and then figure out how much more I want to do.  I may just liven up the colours that the wash muted and then call her done.

Here she is:

Kaeris - Almost finished.

Gamin

I have managed to get the “skin” of the Gamin to a state where I am happy.  I am currently working on getting the base to look like there is lava flowing underneath the flagstones.  Not entirely successful, but not a miserable failure either.  I will probably start over on their legs and the base and try something new.  I am not fond of how white I got each models lower legs.  Oh well, live and learn.  Last thing I did was dot in some Chaos Black for some sort of definition to their eyes.  Again, not perfect but acceptable.  My next big decision is whether I paint in the loincloth as cloth or leave it “fiery”.  So my “to do” list for the Gamin is: fix the legs, repaint the base, decide on painting the loin cloth.  After that I am going to call these guys finished.

These Fire Gamin need some leg work.

Gunsmiths

Haven’t managed to get anywhere with these guys.  I pushed some Chaos Black around on them because I felt that they suited starting from a black base to give them a more muted colour scheme.  I did leave the female gunsmiths head white so that I could get her skin and hair vibrant as a contrast to her dark outfit.  Still thinking about these ones.  I like the black plus brown of the studio paint job but am worried that painting a convincing black is too difficult.  Need to give it more thought.

Barely even started!

Warhammer Fantasy – Lizardmen Army

Two things happened at just the right time to renew my interest in Warhammer Fantasy Battles.  I started painting Malifaux stuff and, in doing so, decide to also work on some Lizardmen that have been languishing in bare metal and plastic for far too long.  Justin, out-of-the-blue, sent me a message saying that he missed WHFB.  Well, I did too.  That begin a painting spree that started with a Salamander Hunting Pack, led to my Slann, and has progress to a second hunting pack and a Steg.

Salamanders and Skinks

The Skink Handlers are fairly low detail so I thought I would just try to get them done .  I primed them white with gesso and gave them a heavy base coat of Hawk Turquoise.  I did a light Skull White drybrush all over to get the details to pop a bit.  I then concentrated a bit heavier on the fins and scales.  The jewelry and prod metals were all done in Dwarf Bronze.  The prod was Scorched Brown.  The blade was Chaos Black then a light Fortress Grey drybrush.  Lastly I did their eyes, a tiny swipe of slightly dilute Sunburst Yellow.  Whats left?  Very little.  Maybe a drop of wash on the metal.  Then come up with some sort of basing strategy.  Fin.

The Salamander was just as simple.  Primed with gesso and based with Golden Yellow.  Then a very generous wash of Baal Red.  I left that overnight to dry completely.  I really liked how that look and so was a bit nervous to continue.  Be a shame to ruin it and have to start over again.  After much deliberation I decided that I needed to drop some black in on its scales.  This went surprisingly well.  I was sure I was going to slop paint somewhere.  I didn’t!  I let him dry completely and then gave him a pretty heavy drybrush of skull white.  Maybe too generous. I am thinking, and received supporting feedback, that I should have just drybrushed the black scales and left his skin alone.  I am going to try that on the next one.  I have a bunch of details left to do.  Eyes, metals, teeth/mouth, base, etc…

The other Hunting Pack is not nearly as far along.   The Skinks are Turquoise and the Salamander has had his Baal Red wash.

Just a few details left.

Some minor detail work left. Eyes, claws, base...

Slann

I started on the Slann’s palanquin without actually having it completed.  I was deliberating whether I would use the BSB part or the tiny plain top.  As you can see in the pictures below I opted against the BSB.  Seemed too unwieldy especially on an already unwieldy model.  I primed the chair with gesso up to the BSB attachment and started basing it in Fortress Grey.  While that was drying I stuck the Slann onto a bit of sprue and gave him a coat of gesso.  When I revisited the chair I had decided which build to use and finished the priming and base coat.  I left the tusks, leaves, and skink attendant white.  After that I started blocking in the leaves with various greens (Scorpion, Goblin, and Snot … specifically).  Not sure how well the two washes will work together, we shall see.

I was anxious to start seeing the chair come together so I decided to start putting in a black wash on the back of the chair.  So far I am pretty happy with how it is looking.  Painting in all those vines may be a challenge though.

The Slann got a base coat of Dessert Yellow careful to avoid his belly and cheeks; those were done in Bleached Bone.  He then got a generous wash of…uh…either Ogryn Flesh or Gryphonne Sepia.  I can’t remember.  I’ll have to do a little test to figure out which.  I think it was the sepia though as the flesh is a little red toned.  After the was had completely dried I carefully drybrushed the belly with Bleached Bone to restore the colour a bit.  I did the hands a little bit at the same time to lighten them.  That’s where I left off.

I’m really happy with my progress on this model.  That is a pretty good feeling for a change as often I am unhappy and discouraged.  Yay me!

Starting to paint in the leaves.

Base, wash, and touch ups.

Black wash.

Stegadon

I had a small amount of Skull White spray primer and it happened to be a fairly nice day here so I decided to skip the gesso this time and go the easy route.  I did a very generous wash of Thraka Green right over the primer and let that dry overnight.  I then did a coat of Bleached Bone on his belly feathered out to a light drybrushing on the edges to try to simulate a blend.  It worked ok.  I left this guy in the process of touching up all his horn with Skull White to get ready to paint then.  Not sure how I’ll do it.  Probably a sepia wash and then a drybrush.

Starting to look quite good.

GW Spray Gun

On a whim I picked up the GW spray gun.  The idea of hand priming and base coating a hundred or so Lizards was disheartening.  This should help.  I haven’t tried it yet.  I’m a little worried about sending gesso through it.  Anyone know if this would be a problem?

That is the state of the models on my workbench currently.  Since starting this post (and this has taken weeks to finally finish) all I have done is give the Gunsmiths a fairly heavy Fortress Grey drybrush.  It looks like it will make a good base for painting in some detail.  Anyhow, thanks for reading.  I know this is a long post but I had quite a bit to talk about, hopefully going forward I will have more regular progress and will be able to do smaller posts a bit more frequently.

3 responses to “I hate to paint #4

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Regarding the spray gun, funny that you should mention it … I just started looking into finally using the airbrush that I purchased years ago. I bought a single action airbrush kit from Michaels way back when but never had the guts to try it out. A little while ago, I picked up a portable air tank of Craigslist but that still didn’t push me to try out my airbrush.

    Here I am now, I just bought an air regulator, watched a bunch of youtube videos on basic techniques and bought bottles of windex and distilled water. I’m almost there but I have to put together the air tank and fill it up.

    Regarding Gesso, I’ve read that it’s pretty think so you’ll need to thin it down to the consistency of milk BUT there’s a couple of problems with that. Some people don’t recommend gesso and an airbrush at all. What should you use to thin it down? I’ve heard that you should use water since it’ll make it runny and it won’t adhere to your model. Some others say that gesso has some think particles/flecks so it might gum up your brush.

    I would really like to try to airbrush gesso since it’s so cheap (much cheaper that the Vallejo stuff that MM has). To start with I’m going to try some cheap craft store paint on some terrain pieces. See how that goes. I’ll blog about it as I go.

  2. This person has done a reasonable job of discussing gesso. Seems like he makes some good points against using gesso in an airbrush. too bad. The business about gesso shrinking is a real eye opener!

    http://www.dakkadakka.com/wiki/en/Priming_With_Acrylic_Gesso

    • I tested it out. I really am a die-hard skeptic! I slopped Liquitex white gesso on a Ral Partha ranger from ’88 and it shrunk down to reveal the little details. Pretty cool. I guess I should stop being miserly with my application of gesso on my models.

Leave a Reply

