On The Workbench   4 comments

I am borrowing this post concept from the other guys here and giving a heads up about what I have on my work table right now.

Alternate Rasputina and a Silent One.

Rasputina is assembled and has been given a light prime.  I have very lightly glued her to her base as I think I will be moving her over to a Dragon Forge scenic base.  I like this Alt model a lot better than the original.  It is still flat and almost one-piece but this one seems to have a lot of “motion” sculpted in.  The old one looked a bit like someone just striking a pose.  Madonna’s Vogue comes to mind when I look at it.  As you can probably guess I will be fielding the Alt from now on.  What to do with the original…?

Slann Mage-Priest Palanquin

Wild Green Fiendy Liquid

This monstrosity has been sitting on my shelf in a semi-built state for a long long time!  I managed to get 90% of the way through the build but the gaps were starting to bother me so I took a stab at using Green Stuff.  That was a disaster.  Green Stuff is the devils work.  It sticks to your fingers but not metal.  So you need to use, get this, spit or Vaseline to get it to not stick to you which makes it even less likely to adhere to metal.  It cures fairly quickly so if you don’t know what you are doing it starts getting crumbly before you even have it applied to the model.  It is ridiculous.  I wept that day.  I blame Green Stuff for my tendency to drink while doing hobby related things!  Fast forward to mid-last week and a quick stop in at the Scarborough GW to grab some paints.  I notice a bottle on the shelf behind the cash labelled “Liquid Green Stuff”.  I talk to the guy about it.  Ask various questions that he doesn’t really have answers for.  Get him to pop one open and show me the viscosity (about the consistency of, uh, Mayonnaise?).  And end up buying a bottle just to give it a shot.  The verdict is still out but I did get the seams filled (mostly) on my palanquin.  I also used it to fill a ridiculous gap in the neck of one of my Salamaders (see below).

Salamander

Gap was behind the neck frill.

Buying the Liquid Green Stuff reminded me of my Salamanders, I remembered that at least one of them did not fit together well.  I pulled it out of the figure case the other day and got right to work.  The gap in the side of its neck looked like it had been made by a band saw, a large smooth rectangular cut.  I didn’t know specifically how to tackle it so I just started loading up a brush and pushing the filler into the crack, feathering the edges where possible.  Each attempt I let dry for a few hours before applying another coat.  After the last coat I let it dry for almost 24 hours before I took a look at it.  Pretty messy looking but between a file and my hobby knife I was able to clean-up it up to a point where I was confident priming it.  After priming it looked fine to me.

Fiend of Slaanesh

I took out this model last week to see if I could quickly put it together before my game with Justin.  What a laugh.  There are lots and lots of pieces to this model.  All I’ve managed to do is pull out one piece at a time and clean them up.  I have lots left to do and another full Fiend sitting in its blister waiting.  Ugh.

Freebooter’s Fate Amazon Starter

I threatened to Justin that I would grab out the models and get them all finished before him if he didn’t post something to this blog.  He didn’t believe me.  Rightly so.  They are still sitting, untouched, in their box.  I love the look of the models and am pretty interested in trying out the game but, despite all that, I can’t seem to bring myself to take them out and start working on them.  Too much going on I guess, hobby and otherwise.

Lastly, and related to Liquid Green Stuff again, I leave you with this photo:

Steg

4 responses to “On The Workbench

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, leg-up is exactly the position your Stegadon will be in next time you table him! Die, dino-beast, die!
    Wow, you have more on the table than I do! No wonder nothing gets finished 😉 At least you’re working on stuff.
    Hey, you forgot to mention Kaeris’ crew. They’re almost done. You should be proud of that.

    Man, I do need to post on here. It’s been a LONG time.

  2. Kaeris and her team have graduated to painting only (though I do have to put the Gunsmiths on their Dragon Forge bases…I guess the Gunsmiths will be part of the next Workbench post).

    • Something I DID forget to mention is the new plastic Saurus Oldblood model I picked up Sunday that is sitting on my table waiting for me. Cool model. Really looking forward to putting it together.

  3. Yeah, I love the look of that Oldblood. I seriously might pick one up for myself, even though I don’t play Lizards (even though I should have gotten into them, as they are one of the best-looking armies in WHFB).

Leave a Reply

