Update – Avatars of War: DE Sorceress & Malifaux Lilith   2 comments

I got sidetracked this week with the Diablo 3 beta. I was warned that it’ll suck up all my hobby time but I didn’t listen. I gave it a shot but surprisingly, it didn’t over impress me. I finished the beta and although I did like all the cool graphics, I could take a pass.

Even with this distraction, I did make some time to work on a couple of models. I wanted to play around with some of the techniques that I read about in some of GW painting books that I have. I took bits and pieces from the ‘Eavy Metal Masterclass & How to Paint Citadel Miniatures books. I not much for a ton of mixing of a bunch of paints and then successive shades of highlights but I was curious to see what kinda of results I would get.

With the dragon on the DE sorceress’ arm, I tried the following:

  1. Basecoat of chaos black & blood red
  2. Highlight of blood red
  3. Highlight of blood red & blazing orange
  4. Highlight of blazing orange & bleached bone
  5. Glaze of Baal Red wash

Although I wasn’t able to pick off a ton of detail, I was happy with the “arm’s length away” look. I used a similar formula with Lilith’s outfit and once again, I went with an “arm’s length away” look and I’m pretty happy. There’s a ton of details with all the buckles on her boots but I decided to not waste a ton of time and go for the tabletop quality.

With the DE skirt, I went with a base coat of chaos black & dark angel green then work up with highlights with snot green and rotting flesh. I used a bunch of other techniques from these books for both their hairs, the DE serpent wand and lilith’s coat. So in the end, I’m pretty happy with the purchase of these painting guides.

 

Edit: I think I need some better pictures … I’ll bring these gals to Meeplemart tonight so that Justin can take some better pics.

Posted February 7, 2012 by loychan in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Update – Avatars of War: DE Sorceress & Malifaux Lilith

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oooh, Lilith looks too cute to be the bad-ass killer she is!
    Nice paint job, though. I’ll check it out in person tonight.
    As for the DE chick, the only way to see how well you painted her is to put her in an army, on the table, and FIGHT!

  2. Hadn’t seen this before. Glad you mentioned it, Loy! They look great on the table and on the page.

    Looking forward to perhaps taking Lilith on, if she looks that good…

Leave a Reply

