I hate to paint #3   2 comments

So I have been struggling with finding a technique for painting fire.  Following a suggestion from Argentbadger I took a stab at working up from yellow and am quite pleased with the results.  First off, I know the Gamin are supposed to be some sort of solid, like Lava or Magma, and wouldn’t be coloured like this.  This assumes that the Gamin’s “heat source” is at their feet.  Just imagine that they are a spout of flame given shape and this look could work.

The wash technique.

Here are the details.  I gave this new Risen model a generous base coat of Golden Yellow.  Then a light wash of Baal Red picking out only the highest areas.  I felt that it started to look kinda junky at this point so I changed focus and gave it a generous red wash around its head.  After drying I washed it again, head and shoulders.  Twice more getting progressively lower on the model.  During each wash I focused a lot on the head to get it as dark as I could.  The photo above is after the last wash but before the model was completely dry.

I could try to implement the same technique over smaller areas, leaving the individual recesses of the model yellow but I don’t think I am quite ready for careful work at that scale yet.  Maybe I could do some work on the base to support the idea of fire coming out of the ground.

I an not 100% convinced that I should have finished by very lightly dry brushing the red.  It seemed to dull it down quite a bit.  I will probably give his head one more wash to liven it up.

After a light white dry brushing.

Anyhow, the next big challenge will be to reproduce these results on an actual Fire Gamin model.  Something tells me that will be easier said than done.

Okay, on to other things….

Kaeris

I’ll start from the end.  Here is where I have gotten her to:

Kaeris mostly base coated

Fairly straightforward stuff here.  To bring her up to this state I used a curry’s #0 tapered flatbrush and a Reaper Pro #0 detail brush.  I blocked in all the metal on her torso.  Boltgun Metal for the backpack and wing mechanism and Shining Gold for the feathers.  Then painted in her skin with Elf Flesh.  I switched over to a Reaper Pro #2 flat brush and blocked in the exterior of her cloak with Fortress Grey.  For the interior I used Codex Grey and a combination of all three previous brushes to get into nooks and to easily coat flat areas.  Last thing I did was lay down some Scorched Brown Graveyard Earth on her pants with the #0 detail brush.

For the base I started at a greyish colour…whatever it was Justin had base coated it with before he gave it to me.  I then gave it a light coat of Fortress Grey and a wash of Badab Black.  Once it was dry I gave the areas between the rocks another wash to darken them up.  I dry brushed on some more grey and finished with a light application of Thraka Green wash.  Not sure I like the look of the green.  I was hoping it would suggest moss or mildew on the rubble.  I’ll work at it some more later.  I did the whole base with:

Stumpy the P3 drybrush

This work was spread out over a few days so, alas, no booze summary.  I will inform you that I did most of this work without drinking any beer.  If you think this seems to be better quality work then before I can assure you that it has nothing to do with the absence of beer, nothing.

I am still obsessed with Manchester Orchestra’s album Simple Math but this time I listened to a bunch of other stuff as well.  Songs of note:  Back and to the Left by Texas is the Reason, The Name of a Street by Metroschifter, and Sleep Is Wrong by Sleepytime Gorilla Museum.

Next time: Painting the real Fire Gamin. Also, Kaeris may get an all over wash.

Thanks for reading.

2 responses to “I hate to paint #3

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the effect on the Risen, and I feel like it’s quite an improvement over the Fire Gamin from your earlier post. If anything, I think that I prefered the version with just the washes, and that the white dry-brush wasn’t needed (it makes the miniature look a little dusty in the photo, though I know that photos of miniatures often lie).

    Your work on the Kaeris model is good, and I agree with you that putting a wash on it would probably make a big improvement.

    • Thanks. Definitely an improvement over the Fire Gamin. The model with the light dry brushing looks better in person but it does look a little “soft focus” if that makes sense.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

