Discount Power Klaw   2 comments

It’s fascinating how the tale of gamers went from one game last year to like 20 different games in the new year. It seems that every post brings up a new minis title that I’ve always wanted to play.

Avatars of War, Urban War, LOTR, Firestorm, etc…all of those games are on my radar.

However, I did make a New Year’s resolution to really get into a game and play the crap out of it.

I was doing great with the 40k league, but now I’m being bombarded by temptation.

Last week I did manage to play 3 games of 40K! I really enjoyed digging in getting my Orks on the table. What I love most about the experience is that each game seems to bring more and more army building opportunities. Units I never thought of fielding now seem to have their purpose. Some units I thought were great are getting relegated to the reserves list.

On the hobby side, let’s talk conversions. Converting models is something I don’t typically do. I’m not a huge fan of taking bits and green stuff and converting models. I only convert when I don’t want to pay for a model I don’t like the look of. That said, the Ork 40k army is probably the perfect vehicle for converting models. The kits come with a large number of bitz. Orks tend to build in a ramshackle manner that makes even a shoddy conversion look like something an ork mind would do. Also, both vehicles and the orks themselves are treated to this juryrigging process…vehicles via Meks and Orks via Painboyz.

For a recent battle I wanted to field the standard warboss. I had a model, but unfortunately I had to cull some parts off of him to build my Kustom Wazdakka months ago. So I rummaged through the bitz and this is what I could find.

20120124-175752.jpg

The goal was to get a warboss with a power klaw and a shoota/skorcha Kombi weapon.

The Kombi weapon came pretty naturally. I took a shoota from the battle wagon model and a skorcha from the extra burna sprues.
The power klaw was much more challenging. I considered using a large power axe and attaching pointy bitz to it to make a klaw like appendage. I had difficulty trying to attach it to the body without it looking like an axe growing out of the side of his body.

In the end I went with the less impressive, but easier solution. I had an extra grot prod claw that I put at the end of a bandaged arm. The comment I got in game was that the warboss probably owed the painboy money and got the “disc0unt” power klaw.

Anyway, here’s the finished product…

20120124-180052.jpg

Let’s hope I don’t get too waylaid and finish up these greenskins…

20120125-060645.jpg

20120125-060739.jpg

Posted January 25, 2012 by coffeedream in Games Workshop, Orks, Warhammer 40,000

2 responses to “Discount Power Klaw

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know what is interesting? This post is the only post that is getting spam on this site. LOTS of spam. Akismet seems to catch tons of spam, but 30 or more have still sneaked through and required moderation. There is still more after a title change, the thinking being that a particular word in the title might be one that spam bots look for. It has dropped from 6 or 8 per day down to 2 or 3 per day. But I am still deleting spam. Any ideas?

  2. Spam has dropped to one message per day now. Orks attract spam. Words to live by.

Leave a Reply

