I hate to paint #1   7 comments

This is the first in a series of highly uninformative posts on painting from a guy who hates to paint.  Scratch that.  I don’t hate to paint.  I like painting.  But only when it is easy and produces good results.  I enjoyed painting Space Marines.  I didn’t do a great job, but I did good enough of a job that I was fairly happy with them.  The key about painting Space Marines is that they are pretty easy to produce a decent paint job on.  All you need to do is follow the tiny little guide that comes along with every 40K starter that tells you how to paint.  It, admittedly, is a very simple paint method but it works really well.  That being said.  Most things in the miniature painting world do not work like that.

I recently picked up a Malifaux starter.  Kaeris.  You can see it in its studio painted glory here, just click on the links to the contents of the starter at the bottom of that page.  This installment covers the process I went through preparing myself to paint the Fire Gamin, test painting on a poor Risen, and actually applying the first few layers of paint.

The poor Risen model I brutalized during test painting. (Front)

The poor Risen model I brutalized during test painting. (Back)

#2 reaper pro flat

overbrushed on straight golden yellow trying to leave only a small amount of the white prime visible

lightly overbrushed with a mixture of Blood Red and Golden Yellow (approximately 5 to 1)

this ended up looking terrible so I heavily overbrushed with the same mixture trying to leave only a small amount of the previous white/yellow layer visible

this ended up looking terrible too so I washed it generously with baal red wash using a p3 small drybrush that I have cut square because it was frayed.

I now have a red/orange gamin

One fire gamin painted orange and washed red in 18 simple steps.

he is drying.

During the wait I decided to torture the Risen with a heavy drybrush of yellow and then white over the red I painted on the front of the legs to see if I could get a passable result by doing “fake fire” (red up to yellow).  It looks better looking right at the model than it does in this photo.  This technique, or something similar, will probably be what I use on my Orange/Red Gamin.

The Risen after a test dry brush of yellow and white.

1 Guinness later

A further generous wash of Baal Red targetting two specific areas, the tiny dots of white I missed during the first wash and areas I want to have darker shadows.

he is drying, again.

The end result of an evening of aggravation. Things can only get better, right?

(Another Guinness)

This concludes the first instalment of the wildly popular “I hate to paint” series.  What did I learn during this mockery of miniature painting?  1) Fire is hard, 2) Studio paint jobs are like those girls in the glossy magazines…real life just doesn’t look like that, 3) Have something else to paint while you wait for washes to dry so that you don’t just start drinking Guinness, 4) How to spell Guinness.

See you!

7 responses to “I hate to paint #1

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hahaha, I really don’t even know where to start, man! Maybe with the Guinness…es…
    Yeah, fire is hard, but the legs on the Risen look good. Hopefully you end up being happy with the outcome. I like how the Ice Gamin turned out, if that’s any consolation.

  2. I think the key to fire is to start with white and add fiery colors gradually. Rather than starting dark and going lighter. That way you get a bright mini instead of a dark crimson one.

  3. That may be the key to really nice looking fire but it is also very very hard. This post is called “I hate to paint” not “I’m a good painter and want to take my skills to the next level”.

  4. Maybe you love to hate painting. Or hate to love painting.

    Regardless, you love beer…

  5. Pingback: Workbench – M&SU Assest (or, Fear the Burning Angel) « Tales of Gamers

  6. Pingback: I hate to paint #2 « Tales of Gamers

Leave a Reply

