A Crew In A Week – The Ortegas   5 comments

Despite not wanting to overlap my posts with my own hobby blog, I feel I need to add this news to the Tale of Gamers group blog.  I’ll keep my WIP stuff to my blog, and put relevant big stuff up here.

Anyway, you didn’t come here to read my rambles, you came here to see my minis! 

I am very proud of my accomplishment, and very happy with how they turned out.  I’m not known for finishing models (in fact, I’m hardly known for starting to paint them in the first place! … you don’t want to know how many games I’ve played with “Blizzard Force” or “The Bare Metal Bandits”). 

Well, things are a’changin’, and here’s proof.  It’s not a great picture, I know, but it’s good enough for now.  It shows off the fact that Perdita and her family are fully painted, right down to the buttons, and appropriately based.

Here’s a quick run-down of paints I used, in no particular order, among the various models.  Paints are P3 brand, unless otherwise noted.

  • Bloodstone
  • Bootstrap Leather
  • Cryx Bane Base
  • ‘Jack Bone
  • Thrall Flesh
  • Midlund Flesh
  • Greatcoat Grey
  • Coal Black
  • Pig Iron
  • Molten Bronze
  • Cryx Bane Highlight
  • Citadel Scorched Brown
  • Citadel Ogryn Flesh Wash
  • Citadel Badab Black Wash

I’m pretty sure that’s it. 

The bases are Dragon Forge.  I highly recommend them.  Most of my Malifaux are on them, and a bunch of other bases are painted and ready for models.  I’m going to do a review of their stuff at some point.  They were painted mostly with FolkArt acrylic craft paint (light grey and dark grey), and some other colours for the details and trim.  But I did these a while ago, so I can’t recall exactly what colours or techniques I used.

Well, that’s that.  A crew in a week.  It’s not going to happen very often that I’m this proficient, so don’t get used to it.  Now to face Hoffman again, and Kaeris.  There’s going to be some good battles coming soon, stay tuned!

Thanks for reading.

Posted January 21, 2012 by mrborges in Guild, Malifaux

5 responses to “A Crew In A Week – The Ortegas

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These look awesome! Great job.

  2. They look great. Are the miniatures really that tall and skinny, or it just photo-stretch? Good work painting them so well in just a week.

  3. Thanks guys, I’m quite happy with them.

    They really are that skinny. One of the things I like about Wyrd’s models are their proportions. They’re like ‘slender heroic’ scale 🙂

  4. Nice. I love the way they play, but I always have better luck with The Viktorias.

    • I’m going to take a gander at the Viktorias’ stats, and other models that fit the theme, and see if I might like to play them. They’ve always been an appealing crew.
      I love the look of the Freikorps as well.
      But let’s stop thinking about buying more, shall we? 🙂

Leave a Reply

