Assembled: Southern Strike & Fire Support Cadres   1 comment

Well, it took me a little while to do (see below), but I’ve finished assembling the Strike and Fire Support cadres that come in the Southern Starter Army box.  I picked it up a couple of weeks ago from Meeplemart, and had worked on the minis for good six or seven hours total over the course of a week to get them built. 

Out of the Box

There are a number of reviews of the starter boxes around the internet, so if you’d like to watch/read an in-depth look, do a quick search.  I’ll just say that the boxes come with a couple of cadres, some dice, a tape measure, a small version of the Locked & Loaded v1.1 rulebook, and a Field Manual with some advanced rules.

The dice and tape measure are nice little bonuses to the set.  The Field Manual will be great for when we’ve played some games and are ready to move on to more advanced aspects of the game. 

The small rulebook is great.  Like the ones that GW releases, this is a great mini version of the rules, albeit Dream Pod 9 does theirs in black and white.  Hopefully this was to keep costs down.  Really, I don’t think that the booklet lacks any, being colourless.  The only section that really should be in colour is the painting section, and that is only a quick and simple guide, anyway.  The binding looks, so far, to be superior to GW’s (my mini WFB rulebook started falling apart before I had played my first game!).  My only minor qualm with the book is that the data cards in the back of the book, covering all of the Gears and other units from all of the main factions, are tiny.  Fortunately, my eye sight is fine and I personally don’t have a problem with reading them, but I can imagine this being a problem from some. 

And lastly, the miniatures.  Each cadre (unit, by the way) comes in its own 6-compartment clamshell case, separated by Gears, with the ‘extra’ compartments containing the hex bases and optional weapons.  I love when companies use compartments like this, as it makes building much easier when you don’t have to dump out a whole pile of stuff and sort.  Of course, there’s always room for some mixing and matching, especially arms and the like when you want to use optional weapons.  In my case, there were a couple of swaps, but overall I built each Gear out of its compartment.  Easy peasy.

Building

I hate metals.

After months and months of only despruing, cleaning and assembling plastic figures (all three of my WFB armies ended up being plastic-only), I got used to the ease that comes with plastics.  Even between WFB and HGB I built/painted a Firefly (Warmachine) and the Khaliman Republic starter (Alkemy), and those were all plastic. 

I was so spoiled by all that plastic that coming back to metals was a near-nightmare!  I had forgotten the subtle intricasies required for gluing metal to metal.  Especially heavy metals, as most of these Gears were.  Sure, a lot of it came together very easily.  Most of it, in fact.  But one arm/gun/arm combo alone took FOUR tries to get right!  Yeesh!

But I finally did get them together, and now I’ve got a Strike cadre and a Fire Support cadre:

*Not shown are two demolition drones that also came in the mix.

Loadouts

Irrelevant to you if you don’t/won’t play the game, but I thought it’d be interesting to list what heat the Gears are packing.

Strike cadre:

L-R: Black Mamba w/ 2x Medium Rocket Pack (MRP), Medium Autocannon (MAC), Vibroblade (VB); Jagër w/ Light Autocannon (LAC), Anti-Tank Missile (ATM); Black Mamba w/ 2x MAC, Very Light Rocket Pack (VLRP, on back); Jagër w/ Light Rocket Pack (LRP), Light Bazooka (LBZK), VB; Black Mamba w/ Heavy Grenade Launcher (HGL), VLRP, on back.

Fire Support cadre:

L-R: Spitting Cobra w/ Very Heavy Autocannon (VHAC), Medium Rocket Pack (MRP), Heavy Rocket Pack (HRP, on back); Command Jagër w/ LAC, LRP, Anti-Personel Grenade Launcher (APGL); Spitting Cobra w/ MRP, Heavy Autocannon (HAC), HRP on back; Spitting Cobra w/ HAC, Light Guided Mortar (LGM), Very Light Field Gun (VLFG).

Oh, and just for giggles, here is a pic with an above-average (size 7) Gear beside a Light ‘jack from Warmachine:

 

Gripes

Speaking of Warmachine, you know what I don’t like about Heavy Gear Blitz?  Okay, as we continue to play I’m sure I’ll find more things I don’t like, but for now, my one real gripe about the game is the base sizes.  You know how in Warmachine (and Malifaux, and Warhammer, etc. etc. etc.) the base size is reflective of the model size?  So, usually a warrior model is on a 30mm base, a Light ‘jack is on a 40mm base and a Heavy ‘jack is on a 50mm base.  Or a human is on a 20mm base, a Lizardman is on a 25mm base, and a Rat Ogre is on a 40mm base.  Etc. and so on.  Well, in HGB, most of the Gears are on the same size base!  Other than the super-large Striders (which are on round bases, instead of hex bases like the rest…I guess another gripe!), all of the Gears are on the same hex base, which for some Gears are perfect (see the Jagers), while others are spilling over (see the Spitting Cobras). 

Don’t get me wrong, sometimes it’s great when a model is made to be a little bigger than the base, like a Hell Pit Abomination or an Arachnarok Spider.  But I feel that the larger models in HGB actually look a little silly on such small bases. 

I very much considered using other bases, even round ones, for my Gears.  But in the end it was easier to just use the hexes, and the game uses 60* turns, so hexes help.  Meh.  Just silly.

On to Painting

Tomorrow I should be able to prime these guys.  I’m going to go with white, and follow the shades-of-gray paint scheme that is stock for these guys.  I considered some other schemes, but this one won out.

Posted September 12, 2011 by mrborges in A Tale of Gamers, Heavy Gear Blitz, The South

One response to “Assembled: Southern Strike & Fire Support Cadres

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post!

    I have been watching HG with interest since playing the PC games so many years ago 😉

    Looking forward to seeing many more posts from you all in the future (including the WHFB ones)

Leave a Reply

