Mustering the Troops (Empire)   Leave a comment

So Week 1 of the Tale of Gamers challenge has come and gone.  By day 1 I had the following…

I started working on building the units right away.  A week later, I’ve only got the 10 Handgunners and 10 Greatswords left to build.  Not too bad, but I should have had them finished already.  That’s okay, because what I’ve built I have already sand-based and primed!

In fact, after I took these pictures, I even started painting some of the Knightly Orders horses.  Today (Monday) I will try and finish building the remaining models so I can at least have the entire army ready to use for our first games of the challenge, which will hopefully be tomorrow.

Thoughts so far…

So I’m pretty happy with how things are going.  It’s only been a week, and shortly I will have all of my available troops built and primed, and I am already starting on the painting.  I think in terms of pace, I’m doing well.  I will not need all 60 men and 14 horses for my first few games, so I will be painting what I need for starters.

Still no baby yet.  He’s refusing to leave the comfort of the womb, much to my wife’s chagrin.  And belly-aching.  Literally.  So this is giving me some extra time to work on this stuff, but I know time is running out.

I ended up going with the Swordsmen for my initial State Troopers unit.  I prefer the look and feel of them over the Halberdiers, although I know the latter is the more popular unit these days.  It’s a trade-off between a point in WS, I, Armour Save and a Parry Save, versus a higher S.  I am hoping that lasting power is going to help me more than hitting power will, but we will see soon enough.  I will add 20 Halberdiers as soon as as I’ve added all the troops I have that I want to use, so probably when we get above 1000pts.

I think that’s all for now.  Let’s see how my compatriots are doing with their armies…

Posted May 9, 2011 by mrborges in Empire, Warhammer Fantasy

Leave a Reply

